Dreams vs Dollars

GabriellePelicci PhD
1 min readJun 11, 2024

--

Balancing Wealth and Creativity while You Pursue Your Passion

Let’s talk about the dance between Wealth Building and Dream Building.

Having been self-employed since I was 17, I’ve learned to balance finances with creative aspirations. Sometimes, I need to prioritize money-making gigs to create stability before I can dive into my writing and other dreams. There is no shame in the hustle to fund the art.

Dream building requires an investment of time, energy, and money. Producing my books isn’t cheap, and I’ve had to weigh the cost of investment against the wealth of fulfillment.

Ideally, our creative investments yield a high ROI, but we need to make a healthy risk assessment. We can go all-in, as long as we never sacrifice our physical and mental health.

Grit is good, and ambition is admirable, as long as they don’t lead to burnout.

The world needs your gifts, and that requires clear priorities, a balance of time and money, and consideration of multiple bottom lines to achieve a lifelong impact and sustainable influence.

What is your creative dream? Share it in the comments!

--

--

GabriellePelicci PhD

Dr. Gabby is a professor and coach, guiding individuals and groups towards wholeness. Gabriellepelicci.com